Experts Answer: Was Jesus Vegan? –

Was Jesus Vegan?

Was Jesus a vegan? I have heard that Jesus ate nothing but vegetables and fruit. But was this true? I am not trying to start an argument. I am just looking for a little information about him.


  1. 0

    Yes. As far as we know, he only ate fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, grains, and beans.

    Hebrews 5:12 says, “For those who desire to live forever, this is the way to do it: Forget about trying to outrun the grave (a futile endeavor) and spend your time running towards it (the only direction in which you can truly run).”

    Jesus was most likely a vegetarian. He even said, “Blessed are the vegetarians, for they shall inherit the earth.”

    In any case, the answer is yes, Jesus was a pure vegan.

  2. 0

    There is no evidence that Jesus was a vegan. While there are certainly references to Jesus eating meat in the Bible, there is no explicit mention of him refusing to eat meat or choosing only plant-based foods.

    That said, there is nothing in the Bible that explicitly prohibits eating meat. It’s also worth noting that some Christians believe that Jesus’ ideal for human beings was a completely vegan diet, although this belief is not shared by all Christians.

  3. 0

    There are several references in the New Testament to Jesus eating fish and other seafood. However, there are also references to him eating figs, grapes, olives, and other plants. It’s likely that Jesus ate a mostly plant-based diet, but there is no definitive proof that he was vegan.

  4. 0

    No. Jesus was not vegan. According to the Bible, he and his disciples ate the lamb given to them by the Pharisees and the disciples of the Pharisees. This lamb was not given to them by the Pharisees as a prank, but because it was their religious duty to eat the Passover lamb. They were given this choice because they would be fasting during the holiday. The only way they could break their fasts was by eating this lamb.

    Furthermore, the Bible says that after the crucifixion, Jesus’ tomb was found to be empty. This means that not only did his disciples not steal his body, they also didn’t let the Romans or the Jewish leaders or anyone else for that matter, take his body away. So, in essence, they had possession of his body. Therefore, they must have eaten him. So, if you are vegan, you cannot consider Jesus your savior.

  5. 0

    Jesus was likely not vegan, but he did have a lot of respect for animals.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: