Experts Answer: Is Yeast Vegan? –

Is Yeast Vegan?

What is the difference between vegan yeast and regular yeast? I have a friend who is vegan and he uses vegan yeast all the time. I was wondering if you know anything about it.


  1. 0

    Yes. Yeast is a living organism, a fungus, that grows on bread and produces carbon dioxide, alcohol, and other byproducts.

  2. 0

    Yeast is not explicitly vegan as yeast uses living things to grow, but it doesn’t matter because some people don’t consider yeast a life form and so they eat it.

    So there you have it. Eating yeast might not affect your vegan diet at all because most vegans don’t see the yeast as a life form and so enjoy eating them without worrying about getting protein or something like that.

    You could also just avoid eating anything with water in it if you’re worried about bugs inside of the stuff since those are technically alive too and most bakers just use yeasts to make bread rise.

  3. 0

    Yeast is a fungus, so I’m going to assume you are asking whether yeast extract, which is simply the extract that comes from yeasts in fermented foods like soy sauce or beer. If that’s what you’re asking about then sorry but no, these are not vegetarian because they include animal parts.

    If you’re looking for vegan yeast extract it’s available at many larger chain grocery stores for purchase in bottles. You can also make your own vegan version of this by adding some yeast extract onto apple cider vinegar or lemon juice, along with spices like thyme and garlic powder.

  4. 0

    Phew, no! Yeast is definitely not vegan. The funny thing about yeast is that it’s made of other microorganisms. Eating one living organism or anything else with dead animals in it, for that matter, should be pretty clear indication that you’re not vegan.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: