Is Tempura Vegan?

I’ve heard that tempura batter contains egg, and that it is vegan to use soya or other “fake” eggs. Does this mean that the tempura itself is vegan? I was wondering if anyone had experience with tempura and could give me a quick answer. Is tempura vegan?


  1. 0

    Tempura batter can be made both with egg and without egg so it can be vegan. Personally, the recipe I follow is:

    50 g (1/3 cup) cornstarch
    35 g (1/4 cup) flour
    10 g (2 tbsp) rice flour
    1 tsp (3 g) baking powder
    1/2 cup sparkling water

    It won’t fry to super golden brown like the egg batter counterpart, but it will get the same consistency as regular tempura batter. You just have to make sure you don’t overcook one side.

More Questions

© 2022 Vegan4K is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to and affiliated sites.

The information contained on the Vegan4K website is for general information purposes only. This website does not provide medical advice. Always seek the advice of a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical condition or treatment.

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: