Is Pesto Vegan?

Do you know if pesto is vegan? It’s a delicious Italian condiment and I would like to make it but I want to be sure it won’t hurt my digestion.


  1. 0

    pesto is a no-go for vegans.

  2. 0

    No, traditional pesto is not vegan because it is usually made with parmesan cheese. However, it’s not difficult to make your own dairy-free pesto at home by either replacing the cheese with nutritional yeast or even just lemon juice for extra flavor.

  3. 0

    Pesto is generally not suitable for vegans, because it’s traditionally made with Grana Padano or Parmesan cheese (both of which aren’t suitable for vegetarians either). You can often find vegan and vegetarian varieties in the supermarket however. For example Sacla make a range of vegan pesto, using a vegan cheese alternative.

More Questions

© 2022 Vegan4K is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to and affiliated sites.

The information contained on the Vegan4K website is for general information purposes only. This website does not provide medical advice. Always seek the advice of a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical condition or treatment.

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: