Is Molasses Vegan?

My son is allergic to soy. He also has a gluten allergy. My son is on a very strict diet. He does not eat dairy or eggs. He does not eat wheat or corn. This is because of his allergy to soy. I have been reading that molasses has gluten in it, but I’m not 100% sure. Could you please let me know if molasses is vegan or not?


  1. 0

    Though molasses contains no animal products, it’s still a by-product of a production process that exploits animals, so any molasses made by a facility that uses bone char may be considered non-vegan. Some vegans stay away from bone-char processed sugar, while others don’t.

  2. 0

    Molasses is not vegan because it is typically made in a facility that uses animal products in production. So although it is technically vegan, you cannot trust that it has not been mixed unintentionally with non-vegan products.

  3. 0

    Usually molasses is a vegan product, as it is made from refining sugars such as cane sugar or beet sugar. However, it is not, as a rule, vegan. It could possibly contain other ingredients that are non-vegan. Some vegans also take into consideration that it is typically manufactured in a facility that is non-vegan.

More Questions

© 2022 Vegan4K is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to and affiliated sites.

The information contained on the Vegan4K website is for general information purposes only. This website does not provide medical advice. Always seek the advice of a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical condition or treatment.

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: