Is Miso Soup Vegan?

I recently discovered that miso soup is made of soybeans. It says it’s “vegan” on the front of the package but the ingredients say milk. I would love to know if it’s ok to drink miso soup or not.

Comments

  1. 0

    Yes. It’s actually one of my favorite recipes and it uses miso paste, which is fermented soybeans.

    A vegan version of miso soup would be to substitute the miso with tempeh.

  2. 0

    Miso soup is vegan because it’s usually made from vegetables (mostly tofu) and other ingredients which are not animal products.

  3. 0

    It depends on what type of miso you are talking about. Most misos are vegan because they are made from rice, soybeans, or barley. A few are made with eggs though.

  4. 0

    Miso soup is traditionally made with simple, light ingredients. It’s supposed to be a light, relaxing soup in Japan usually served as an oriental medicine. In a miso soup, the recipe can be altered to be vegan such as using a different soup base differing from using dashi (fish), it can be instead replaced with fermented soybean paste. But when you go to a restaurant to order a miso soup, most likely you will not get a vegan soup because most likely a traditional Japanese restaurant will use dashi as the base of the soup.

  5. 0

    Miso soup is made from soybean.

More Questions

© 2022 Vegan4K is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com and affiliated sites.

The information contained on the Vegan4K website is for general information purposes only. This website does not provide medical advice. Always seek the advice of a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical condition or treatment.

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: