Experts Answer: Is Kimchi Vegan? –

Is Kimchi Vegan?

Is kimchi made with animal products? I have found it in the Asian grocery store but I would like to know if it is vegan.


  1. 0

    yes in few types of kimchi. Not all the kimchi is vegan as there are kimchies in which fish sause or oyster sause is used and in few kimchies anchovies is also used , if u need to eat a kimchi with is vegan try white kimchi , as it is made for child there is no chilly peppers or fish sauce.

  2. 0

    First of all kimchi is basically made of cabbage and other ingredients are radish, and scallions. So all three are vegetables.
    Though in traditional kimchi give sauce is added but for vegan Soy sauce + rice vinegar can be added. So vegan can eat definitely.

  3. 0

    Original Korean traditional kimchi is a pure vegetarian recipe. But nowadays many variations of vegetarian and non-vegetarian kimchi recipes from world-class chefs. Still, generally is considered to be a vegetarian recipe. Foodies eat according to their interests and what their taste buds say.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: