Experts Answer: Is Imitation Crab Vegan? –

Is Imitation Crab Vegan?

Is imitation crab vegan? I am talking about the crab cakes you can buy in grocery stores. I was wondering if it was made with crab or if it was crabless. Thanks for your help!


  1. 0

    Sadly, no. Imitation crab – also known as Surimi – is not vegan because it contains a fish protein called “glovular.”

  2. 0

    In recent years, some vegan products have been manufactured from a substance called Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed. This ingredient is also derived from an animal though, so these products are not technically vegan. In order to be sure that Imitation Crab is Vegan, it’s usually best to read the ingredients list of each product very carefully. If you’re looking for a more traditional Vegan Imitation Crab or any other type of faux seafood product, two great brands are Sophie’s Kitchen and Coconut Grove Trading Company! They offer a wonderful array of options with no fishy taste whatsoever!

  3. 0

    If you are vegan, you are very careful about your daily nutrition, so you should really note the answer to the question whether imitation crab meat is vegan or not. Crab meat comes from crabs, so even imitation crab meat is made of seafood. Despite the similarities between imitation crab meat and real crab meat, these two are still different. So, what is imitation crab meat?

    Imitation crab meat is a product that is made of surimi. It contains no meat of real crabs at all. However, imitation crab meat is made of seafood, which is not vegan at all.

    Don’t confuse imitation crab meat with processed fish. Processed fish has really no meat in it. It is only processed fish products.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: