Is Falafel Vegan?

Is falafel vegan? I was thinking of buying some at a restaurant and not eating it because of the cheese, but now I’m worried that it may contain animal products. I know it’s the Middle East but still…


  1. 0

    Yes, falafel is, normally and usually, vegan. Falafel is most commonly made with chickpeas/garbanzo beans, spices, onion, tahini (water, lemon juice, spices), and vegetable oil. This link is a great example of “typical” falafel ingredients:

    If falafel is not vegan, it is because the chef had unconventionally added animal product that is not normally used, i.e. butter or feta cheese (made from sheep’s milk). If you are unsure at a restaurant, you can always ask if the falafel was made with butter or cheese. Again, it is HIGHLY unlikely that an animal product is used in falafel.

More Questions

© 2022 Vegan4K is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to and affiliated sites.

The information contained on the Vegan4K website is for general information purposes only. This website does not provide medical advice. Always seek the advice of a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical condition or treatment.

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: