Experts Answer: Is Cool Whip Vegan? –

Is Cool Whip Vegan?

I want to make a creamy dessert and I was wondering if I can use Cool Whip. Does it contain eggs or dairy products?

Polina Zueva
Expert Answer
Answered by:

Certified nutritionist. Vegan for more than 10 years. Pole dance instructor. Fitness Athlete.


Here are ingredients of Cool Whip: Cool Whip Original is made of water, hydrogenated vegetable oil (including coconut and palm kernel oils), high fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, skimmed milk, light cream (less than 2%), sodium caseinate, natural and artificial flavor, xanthan and guar gums, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, sodium polyphosphate, and beta carotene (as a coloring).

You can see it has skimmed milk and sodium caseinate in it which are dairy products.

Therefore, Cool Whip is not vegan.


  1. 0

    Yes! It is one of the most delicious vegan desserts around and the base of the best vegan ice cream in the world, too.

    Cool Whip is whipped cream made of cream, sugar, and vegetable oil. That’s it! No egg whites or butterfat or other dairy products whatsoever. The only thing that cool whip has in common with real whipped cream is that it’s creamy.

  2. 0

    Cool whip is a dairy product. Dairy products are not vegan. Therefore, Cool whip is not vegan.

  3. 0

    Cool Whip is actually made with eggs. And, egg yolks are not vegan.

  4. 0

    Cool Whip was previously advertised as being dairy-free, but it turns out that this was not the case, since sodium caseinate, which is produced from milk, was found among the components. However, this has not changed, and Cool Whip now contains skim milk, making it a non-vegan product.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: