Experts Answer: Is Coke Vegan? –

Is Coke Vegan?

Does Coke contain animal products? I have been looking at the ingredients and can’t find anything about animal products. Does anyone know if it is vegan or is not?

Polina Zueva
Expert Answer
Answered by:

Certified nutritionist. Vegan for more than 10 years. Pole dance instructor. Fitness Athlete.

Coca‑Cola is suitable for vegetarians and vegans as they do not contain any animal derivatives. Proof:


  1. 0

    Some drinks from Coca-Cola are not vegan because they contain animal products like gelatin.

    Gelatin is primarily made of collagen, an animal product obtained by boiling animal bones with water. It’s widely used in the food industry as a thickening agent for desserts and drinks like cola or iced coffee.

    Read more about gelatin:

  2. 0

    Cola itself is suitable for vegans, you can find a proof in expert’s answer. But some Coca-cola drinks are not, like:

    – Lilt
    – Schweppes
    – Honest
    – Costa Coffee

  3. 0

    Coca-Cola lists the following ingredients on their website: Carbonated water, sugar, phosphoric acid, natural flavors and other natural flavors, caramel color and caffeine.

  4. 0

    Coca-Cola in the United States is traditionally not vegan because of their use of animal byproducts in processing. However, if you are able to find organic/vegan organic brands or can get your hands on one that has never touched animal products then it may be considered vegan.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: