Experts Answer: Is Cocoa Butter Vegan? –

Is Cocoa Butter Vegan?

Do vegans need to avoid cocoa butter? I’m confused as to whether it is vegan or not.


  1. 0

    Yes. Cocoa butter is a vegan form of vegetable matter that can be derived from cocoa beans. Many vegetarians enjoy cocoa butter as a cocoa substitute, for flavor and texture reasons.

    No animal-based ingredients are needed in the production of cocoa butter, so it is considered to be a completely vegan product.

  2. 0


    Cocoa Butter is made from cacao beans, which are a natural product of the cacao tree and thus vegan. The tree itself produces a pod or seed that is dried and then removed from its shell before its ground to produce cocoa powder (common use for this type of bean). Once this hard seed is removed, the beans left behind create cocoa butter.

    Cocoa butter is not only safe to eat but has many medicinal benefits, including helping with psoriasis, eczema, varicose veins, hemorrhoids, and swollen feet- adding further proof that chocolate lovers need not worry about their vegan diet!

  3. 0

    Technically, cocoa butter is vegan because it comes from a plant, the cocoa bean. Animal products are not used in its production. However, there is some debate as to whether this constitutes a “vegan” ingredient because many vegans do not include slaughter or any usage of animal-derived materials on moral grounds.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: