Is Cane Sugar Vegan?

Hi. I’m vegan and I’m planning on getting my first tattoo and I would like to know if cane sugar is okay to use. If not, is beet sugar okay? Thanks!


  1. 0

    Cane sugar comes from sugar cane, the sucrose (sugar) is extracted from the tall canes when harvest is ready. Of course since it’s ingredients are 100% plant-based, it would safely fall into the vegan category. Beet sugar would also be vegan, same process, different plant 🙂

  2. 0

    The cane sugar is only made with the harvested plant (the sugarcan). So because of the origin of the sugar an the process used, can sugar can be considered to be vegan. However, there is an exception: Only the refined variety of can sugar is often considered to be non-vegan because of the refining process. Sugarcan is a light brown color and to obtain a pure white color, bone char is used. Bone char is made by heating animal bones, and even if bone char does not remain in the sugar, it excludes the refined can sugar to be considered non-vegan.

More Questions

© 2022 Vegan4K is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to and affiliated sites.

The information contained on the Vegan4K website is for general information purposes only. This website does not provide medical advice. Always seek the advice of a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical condition or treatment.

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: