Experts Answer: Can Vegan Eat Bread? –

Can vegan eat bread?

I have been vegetarian for a while now and I have to admit that I have not eaten much bread, but I have heard from several people that they can’t eat bread. Is this true? Can you really not eat bread? I have to admit that I have never thought about this before, so I do not know if it is true or not. I was just curious if you could eat bread when you are a vegan?


  1. 0

    The answer is yes, but it depends on the type of bread that you are eating. Most breads have gluten and many people feel better when they eat something with a grain. There is some evidence to suggest that people who do not consume animal products have lower rates of autoimmune diseases, and it may be that a diet high in grains has a protective effect. However, there is no conclusive evidence at this time.

  2. 0

    You know, I’m pretty sure that vegan’s do eat bread. Just not gluten free bread. But if it’s made with rice flour or tapioca starch it can be okay.

  3. 0

    Yes, you can. There are many vegan breads on the market today that make it easy for vegans to eat anything they want without having to sacrifice great tasting food. Gluten-free options for people on a vegan diet are particularly available, and if gluten free grains such as rice flour or amaranth flour are used in the dough instead of wheat then some species of yeast (e.g., Saccharomyces) and eggs (e.g., Egg Replacer) may be excluded from the recipe while still retaining good flavor and texture.

  4. 0

    Yes, if it is made from sprouted grains, then it is okay. If it contains any animal products or has been baked, then it isn’t vegan. But you can make vegan bread by using whole-wheat flour and baking soda instead of yeast.

  5. 0

    Yes you can but you have to be careful. Most bread is made with flour made from animals products, therefore it’s not a good idea for vegans to eat it. But if you want to eat bread without animal products, try making your own with organic ingredients.

  6. 0

    The word vegan can refer to different things: a diet of only plant-based food items (meaning no animal products like meat and eggs), or using the word as an adjective to denote that a given product is created without any animal byproducts. Many types of bread don’t contain any eggs, so they would qualify as vegan if it were for this definition alone! However, some bread does contain some whey powder or curdling agents such as diphosphates (commonly used in non-vegan baking powders). For those trying to eat “purely plant” at all times, these types of products should be avoided.

  7. 0

    Bread is not made of wheat. It is made of yeast, water, and sometimes other ingredients. The term vegan simply means no meat or dairy.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: