Are Pretzels Vegan?
Are pretzels vegan? I have a few questions about them. I have a friend who is vegan, and she says that pretzels are not vegan because they contain gelatin, so I was wondering if there are any other kinds of pretzels that are vegan?
Yes, pretzels are vegan, but the gluten in them is still a concern.
Many people who are allergic to wheat find that they can tolerate pretzels. There are two main types of pretzels: regular and kosher. Regular pretzels are made of wheat flour and salt. They usually contain carrageenan, a seaweed extract that makes them soft and chewy.
Kosher pretzels are also made of wheat flour and salt, but they contain gluten, which is a protein found in wheat.
Yes, pretzels are vegan food. There’s a chance that they might be made with dairy (milk and eggs), so you need to check carefully a label. The rest of the ingredients are flour, water, salt, and yeast.
Pretzels are vegan in the sense that they are made of only wheat and yeast. However, they are often dipped in egg wash which is made from eggs and water. So, in a way, they are not vegan.
Pretzels are made with yeast and bread flour, and contain wheat gluten, which is not vegan. So if you want to be vegan, you’ll need to be careful about your daily nutrition and your food choices.