Experts Answer: Are Marshmallows Vegan? –

Are Marshmallows Vegan?

I am trying to find out if marshmallows are vegan. I have been told that they are, but I am having trouble finding out the ingredients in them. Any help would be appreciated.


  1. 0

    That depends if you’re vegan because your diet doesn’t allow animal byproducts at all or whether you just have restrictions on eating certain types. If you are vegan for any of the above reasons then yes, marshmallows are not vegan.

    Marshmallows are made with egg whites, gelatin, and sugar made from bone char which is sometimes filtered through cow bones according to Wikipedia. Those ingredients may sound gross but they are safe to eat in moderation so don’t let this stop you from enjoying some marshmallow goodness!

    If you want to enjoy some healthy treats without all the added chemicals read on for a list of deliciously nutty desserts that are vegan friendly!

  2. 0

    I will be vegan if you exclude the gelatin. You can make a vegan marshmallow by omitting the gelatin and replacing it with other ingredients like agar or carrageenan.

  3. 0

    According to some sources, marshmallows are made out of gelatin (derived from animal skin and bones), which is a form of meat. However, it seems that most marshmallow manufacturers have discontinued the use of gelatin as their base ingredient. They now use sugar and water, which does not come from an animal source.

  4. 0

    If you are a sworn vegetarian, you should be confused by the presence of gelatin in this delicacy. Usually, it is present in ready-made marshmallows on the shelves of the store. As a way out, cook it according to your recipe, replacing gelatin with another ingredient. There are about 10 best substitutes on the network.

  5. 0

    Knowing and understanding that vegan diets range from the most restricted where no type of food of animal origin is consumed to those that accept the inclusion of poultry and fish, or eggs and dairy products, then marshmallows will be allowed according to the type of food. veganism that is taking.

    but they are not vegan because it contains gelatin which is what gives them this specific texture and it is extracted from animals of certain tissues so marshmallows are not, it will also depend on the type of vegan diet

  6. 0

    If the marshmallows contain gelatin, they’re not vegan, as other posters have already pointed out. Gelatin is an animal byproduct.

  7. 0

    No marshmallows are not vegan

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: