Experts Answer: Are Girl Scout Cookies Vegan? –

Are Girl Scout Cookies Vegan?

I was just looking at a box of cookies that say “made with butter” and it is not listed as vegan. Can Girl Scout cookies be vegan? I have never had them before but I would like to try them.


  1. 0

    Yes, Girl Scout cookies are vegan. Though the organization does not have a definitive stance on animal testing, they state that no animal products are used in any of their food or cookie recipes. Furthermore, all ingredients are certified kosher and free from artificial flavors, colors, preservatives and hydrogenated oils.

  2. 0

    This is an excellent question. There are two types of Girl Scouts cookies sold in all 50 US states – the Thin Mints, which are vegan, and the Shortbread rounds, which are not vegan because they contain egg whites.

  3. 0

    It depends on the type of cookie. Thin Mints, Samoas, and similar all have dairy in them. Do-Si-Dos and Peanut Butter Patties are probably vegan.

    Being a vegan myself, I can say that I never eat girl scout cookies because there’s no definitive answer about whether or not they’re vegan. However, some people might be able to enjoy do si dos or peanut butter patties if they don’t have a soy allergy.

  4. 0

    Nowadays it is difficult to say with certainty whether a product is vegan or not. But having studied the composition of cookies, and information on the Internet, I can say with confidence that there is really nothing of animal origin in this cookie.

More Questions

Your question was sent

It will be published after moderation.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: